Why Can’t It Be? 24

Chapter 24

After the ride, Richard decided to leave Maya in peace. He also needed to clear his mind. He thought of talking to his brothers but decided against it. He called someone he never thought he would be asking advice from

“What do you want?” Lino snapped as soon as he answered the phone.

“I need some advice,” he admitted.

There was a slight pause before Lino said, “Go on.”

“I’ve really fucked this whole thing up with Maya.”

“You’re a Lim. It’s what we do,” Lino explained with a chuckle.

“Then tell me how to fix this,” he said, close to begging.

“Well, that depends….”

“On what?” he asked, biting back a groan when he realized that he was going to have to deal with typical Lim bullshit to fix this.

“On what you did.”

Sighing, he reached up and pinched the bridge of his nose as he felt a headache coming on. “It’s a long story.”

“I’ve got time.”

~~~~~~~

Not wanting to involve Ryan and his siblings in what he and Maya would be talking about, Richard led the still furious Maya to their hotel room.

“I’m not pushing you away.” She said the moment they settled on their bed.

“That’s how I feel Maya. You know what? Right now I think that you’re only making your inability to have a baby a reason to push me away. Maybe you really don’t love me.” He said in a sad tone that broke her heart.

“Richard you know that’s not true. I just can’t… I can’t drag you in my mess. You don’t deserve this. You don’t deserve me.” Her bottom lip trembled and the she could no longer control her tears.

Richard immediately came to her side and engulfed her in his arms. “I’m not letting you go through this alone, Maya,” he swore. “I’m going to take some time off work and take care of you. After that we’ll take it slow, figure things out, save our money and start filling out every adoption application that we can get our hands on, but I will be there with you, Maya. No more games, sweetheart.”

She averted her gaze as she stopped moving. “I don’t want you to see me like that.”

“Like what?” he whispered as he reached up and cupped her beautiful face in his hands.

“Broken.”

“You’re not broken, damaged or flawed. Do you hear me? You are absolutely fucking perfect and you’re mine.”

She chuckled and rolled her eyes in exasperation. “Only you would see a woman that couldn’t have children as perfect.”

“That’s because you are perfect,” he said, tilting his head so that he could brush his lips against hers. “Besides, who says that you can’t have children?”

“About twenty doctors including your father and brother,” she said dryly, giving him hope because for the first time since he’d found out the truth, she didn’t sound like a small piece inside of her was dying at the reminder that she couldn’t have children.

It gave him hope that one day she’d be able to look in the mirror and see the beautiful woman that he loved.

Still staring at her, he slowly bent her head so he could kiss her.

She allowed him for she can no longer deny that she wanted to be held by him. She wanted the feel of his body against her.

They made love with Richard taking it slow, wanting to make her feel reassured that no matter how hard she pushed him, he is here to stay.

“What if I told you that there was a way to have a baby without having to worry about stretch marks and the disturbing cravings that went along with pregnancy?” he asked offhandedly as he used his hold on her to get her to start moving again.

“What are you talking about?” she asked, moaning softly as she took over by rolling her hips, riding him slowly while she waited for an answer.

“Are you going to do that thing with your hips that drives me out of my fucking mind if I tell you?”

“Maybe,” she said, smiling down at him.

“Do it first.”

“No.”

“Yes.”

“Yeah, I don’t think so. You tell me what I want to know and then maybe I’ll think about doing that thing with my hips,” she said, making him sigh heavily, because really at this point she should know better.

“Fine, then I guess that I’ll just have to double dare you to do it all while you scream your undying love for me.”

With a teasing smile, she leaned in and brushed her lips again his ear. “What if I whisper it?”

“It won’t be the same.”

“And why’s that?” she asked, moaning as she rolled her hips sensually.

“Because my parents have the room across the hall and I would really appreciate it if you could help me out by screaming my name, your undying love and if it’s not too much trouble, a few ‘Dear Gods’ wouldn’t hurt. Maybe you could…why the hell are you laughing, woman? I’m serious!” he snapped, which for some reason only made her laugh harder.

 

To be continued…

This is an adapted story

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Why Can’t It Be? 24

  1. Now they sound better! Thank goodness after six years they are in a much better place. I’m just scared of the “double dare” again! Well, at least they are being honest and open to each other. Their love for each other prevailed and they will be able to go through life together and not apart. Thank you Xiao! Can’t wait for more!!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. At last I’m glad they are talking…thats what they need…talk about Maya situation. Finally they are back on each other arms and talking…don’t like “double dare”…good when they were young but don’t need right now…just being honest to each other, especially they are married…thanks for update xiaoxin

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.